Childhood

Image

 

Just a little psychology humor to lighten the mood.

Freud gets a bad wrap for having linked a lot of dysfunctions with sexual desires for one’s mother. And sure, the guy was on a lot of drugs and said a lot of shit we dismiss, but the basis of his exploration into one’s childhood as the cause of dysfunctions remains relevant today.

I was stricken today by the sheer discernment in someone asking me a simple question, “When did that start?” I was indulging on a personal fault and cognitive dissonance that I am struggling with changing. The question broke me from my dissonance and sent me searching for the first cause, the ground zero of the cognitive catastrophe. When did it start, indeed?

Clearly, in my childhood. Which got me thinking, just how many of our poor behavior, emotional handicaps, and intellectually shortfalls have roots in our upbringing? I have to, also, give credit to “Spinning for Difficulty”‘s comment on for bringing up concerns of parents creating cognitive dissonance in their children’s minds through religious indoctrination. So please go and engage this person as well, because the wisdom therein was inspiring.

Upon reflection, I believe if one can return to their “ground zero,” their initial cause, then one can begin to mend, heal, and change.

Do you agree? PTSD patients have shown great improvement, after all, by returning to the trauma inflicted and facing it. Surely, many of us have these “traumas” in our life, small yet powerful, that gently pushed us in the direction of whatever dysfunction we ended up in.

Thoughts?

16 thoughts on “Childhood

  1. If a troublesome neural path sprouted in childhood isn’t tended to, it will grow into a troublesome neural tree with time – unfortunately it takes a lot of work to tear town a tree compared to a sprout.

    Sometimes those troublesome neural trees have to start uprooting nearby fences before we realize how troublesome they are. We then have no choice but to cut them down if we wish to have any opportunity to mend those fences.

    • Lovely metaphor and poetically written description of what can happen when a seed of dysfunctional thinking is planted.

      I could not agree more.

      The good news it, neural pathways can be re-written. I’m surprised how few people I know know this… I suppose it’s still a relatively new finding in medical science. It gives hope, though!

      Although you are correct… the effort it takes to uproot these trees and foster new pathways in the mind takes a lot of effort and tending to.

      • Is there not some mechanical device to assist us with this uprooting? LOL….reminds me of this rhododendron bush in my front yard that we thought would be a simple task and before we know there we are with a truck and chain wrapped around the root base … we eventually did get the root base out but good lord what a task that was.

      • I wish.

        MRI mapping and such can assist and seeing where the activity in the brain is focusing, and what part of the brain lights up when certain thoughts are triggered. But who the hell has the money, time, and recources to use such a tool?? And who the hell has the privilege of having such mapping done for their personal benefit?

        No one I know, that’s for sure. I only see about them on documentaries, and read about them in medical journals. Lucky bastards.

  2. We humans are terrible eye witnesses. To imagine that we remember what got us into a particular thought pattern that is causing problems with exacting clarity is someone humorous. Going back to re-examine the evidence that led us to dissonance gives us a chance to re-evaluate it in light of information gained since then as well as the clarity about life we may have gained since then with regard to the players and context of that original incident.

    When you are troubleshooting complex equipment, never trust anyone’s previous attempts, including your own. This is common sense. Always go back and verify every troubleshooting step from the beginning.

    • I can’t really tell if you agree with the premise, or not. 😛

      Granted, we are terrible eye witnesses, but only we are able to see what is in our mind. It is our minds. I am not speaking of events as they objectively occurred, but of the interpretation and beginning of the creation of a faulty dysfunctional path of thinking. It’s subjective only to ourselves, no one else can find it.

      Albeit many can assist in how to get there, because they have researched the basic processing of the mind and how to “troubleshoot” through errors.

      …Did that make any lick of sense?

      • It sounds like a rehash of what I was trying to say… when we go back and view it all again with fresh eyes, we see more clearly how we might have made a misstep or bad conclusion etc.

      • Ah! Good. Then I did understand you and we were on the same page. 😛

        I wasn’t sure. Too much reading today and thought processes today… couldn’t discern what was going on with your words. You know, need more coffee in my life problem.

        Well then, thank you for that! Heh heh….

  3. This is somewhat off topic, but I recently listened to a Radiolab podcast about trying to find patient 0 with various diseases, and even social habits. Basically, it is difficult to really determine where something started. That said, I agree with myatheistlife. It is important to find the causes of your problems to the best of your ability, but it’s probably not actually possible to find the initial causes. I certainly haven’t found them.

    • I probably take too much of my personal time attempting to find initial causes for things. It’s a personal obsession of mine.

      I’ve had to learn to not ask why, but “what is happening now” and “how do I change it?” It’s more pragmatic that way, I suppose.

      I do strongly believe that finding causes is possible. Plausible, I’m not so certain. Accurately found, who can know? Therein lies even more problems…

      Ah well.

      As always though, appreciate the thoughts shared.

      • Why is a great question, but you shouldn’t let it take up all your time. Especially if you are interested in coping and finding ways to deal. That requires the present. That requires a focus on what your triggers are and how you cope best. But you seem to know that, and you seem to be doing well. At least as far as I can tell.

      • Thank you. I do try. 🙂 The present is a wonderful thing to try to find… Although the act of focusing can get exhausting when one’s not used to it!

  4. Yes ma’am…..each time I revisit my trauma I gain more insight and compassion for myself and others….ground zero makes me wonder what happens when ground zero is constantly repeated over the course of childhood development… crap more to think about and my poor brain is so damn tired

    • I feel that. I’ve been revisiting far too much, and attempting to rewrite far too many dysfunctional neural pathways.

      I’m fucking beat, dude. Blarg. But at least it gets us insight and compassion, right?

      • Your cracking me up…..yes yes … that’s right insight and compassion….keep repeating this ….blarg back at ya ;p

Penny for your thoughts....? Do share them here!

