Biased Hypocrite

bias

The title of this may be a little harsh, but as I was working today, complaining about how sick I felt and the fact that my job does not offer paid sick days nor vacation… I found my mind immediately drifting to my own post just a few days ago concerning First-world problems vs. Real World Problems. I felt horrible, until I thought about my last two posts on Rape, and realized that with those, despite my personal effort to stay objective and philosophical in all things, the reality is I have biases.

In fact, we all do. We are subjective creatures, incapable of devoiding ourselves of our own biases. Despite the common perception on philosophy, the goal is not to be objective for this is not possible, the goal is to attempt to be open-minded while being explicit of one’s own subjective reality.

So, a confession is needed to be open with my biased nature, to show that despite my efforts, the self will always creep in:

  • I’m a woman. 1/3 women have been raped, or molested. The later happened to me in my early teenage years, and many friends are victims of the former.
  • I’m an Atheist and ex-Christian. I do not hate religion, but then again I do. Sometimes, my past as a fundie Christian leads me to sympathize, other times, my Atheism leads me to scoff at the attempts of religious people. It’s a reality, one I try to keep in check.
  • I’m a vegetarian and animal rights sympathizer. Secretly, I find your meat eating disgusting. Secretly, I judge you for taking part and paying into the abomination that is factory produced meat products.

And in other words, I’m a hypocrite and possibly a horrible person. I remind myself that all that matters is the strive towards a better personal life and world, but how often do we do that and gossip behind backs, or silently judge? Surely we all do.

It can feel good to get the biases out, but it can also, as it does now, feel awfully icky. I tell most people I engage with to point out anything I say that is judgmental, harsh, or not logically consistent. I mean it, for I am a lover of wisdom.

What are your biases? Recognized, or not, there are there.

Can we learn to thrive with our biases? Did I over-judge myself? Can our biases be a good thing? Can we learn from them? Or am I entirely wrong, and true objectivity is possible?

What are your thoughts?

 

10 thoughts on “Biased Hypocrite

  1. The fact that you are willing to look for your biases and educate yourself tells me that you are not a horrible person. It tells me that you are a thoughtful person who cares.
    Of course we are all biased. We form beliefs based on our family, where we live, what type of person we are, etc. All we can do is educate ourselves and get to know others with differing points of view.
    My biases are that I am a gender non-conforming female. As such I tend to focus on feminism and gender issues. I am demisexual and find myself completely unrepresented as such, so I care about representing demisexuality within the queer community. I am an atheist who is both ex-christian and part of an interfaith group. As far as that goes, it’s complicated. And a number of others that I am currently blanking on.

    • I’m sure we all have far too much to even realize. I agree with you that all we can do is educate ourselves, and open ourselves up to conversation with other-minded people and thus broaden our horizons.

      I guess I know I’m not a horrible person… but darned if it doesn’t feel that way sometimes. Especially with hypocrisy, and this damned human emotion we call “anger.” It sure can rise up sometimes and pull out one hell of a reaction to those who disagree with something I believe so strongly in… all the while believing in level-headed discussion and creating a better world. Ha!

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your biases. 🙂 I think we’re all awesome in our own way for them. We’re the only “you/me” there will ever be, after all.

  2. Seriously? You want me to list all my biases in a single comment? Our brains cannot function without bias. For any given situation or thing, you already have a preconception of it… open mindedness is merely the willingness to change your preconceptions, you can’t rid yourself of them.

    As soon as you recognize a situation or thing, you have only past experience to go on – this IS bias and it cannot be eliminated. Think about it, if you favor oats for breakfast you are biased against eggs. We humans cannot approach a situation / problem without bias, it simply is not possible.

    • Bwahaha, no! Do you think that was ALL of my biases? 😛 Hardly. There’s probably far too many to name, and far too embarrassing to try.

      It is true, we can not escape them. But sometimes, a little transparency can’t hurt, I suppose. If anything, for my peace of mind. Cause I can be a bitch sometimes. Meh.

      As always, love your comments and feedback here. They always get me a-thinking.

  3. Biases are healthy, acting as if your biases are absolute truth is not. We should always be open to differing perspective, or else we will end up out of touch with others and endlessly frustrated because people aren’t seeing things as we do.

    Vegetarianism for example, I see it more as a response to the troubles of the meat industry’s practices than anything. I think almost everyone in North America is aware of vegetarianism. Now, if you look at South Korea, a culture that does a good job of balancing food sources in their meals, vegetarianism is almost non-existent. Even these days you will get strange looks and awkward questions if you suggest that you don’t eat meat.

    My personal bias is one that considers everything works on some sort of balance or combination of balances. I also work from the bias that anything magical actually works from within the parameters of the universe as we understand it so far, or will one day be able to be connected into our body of tested, constant understandings.

    • Love it. And thank you for that added world perspective with Vegetarianism… I learn something new every day!

      It definitely does help keeping those biases in check by keeping it all in perspective. I’ve learned tremendously just from blogging about topics, how things aren’t what they seem here in America. It’s eye opening, and refreshing.

      Thank you for that contribution. 🙂

      • Blogging opens you up to criticism, which in turn opens you up for greater understandings. It’s a pretty great thing I’m finding in that sense too!

        Learning about a culture that is more distantly connected to that which you are familiar with also brings a mind-blowing amount of perspective too! The joys of the internet age!

  4. I don’t think you’re a horrible person for having biases. If you’re horrible, then we all are, because we all have them. I will admit that my background and past experiences affects how the opinions I have today. Looking at your list you’ve posted, I can say all three I can relate to. I know I have more, but right now my brain doesn’t seem to be working. I think I need more coffee. 🙂

    • Always need more coffee. I have a cup with me as I write this! Ha!

      We all have so many, I’m sure. And you’re right, they don’t make us horrible people if we keep them in check and in perspective. Sometimes, it can be a daily battle, but blogging here as sure opened my horizons.

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

Penny for your thoughts....? Do share them here!

