Real World Problems: Putting self in context

Good ole' Louis C.K. for some comedian wisdom

Good ole’ Louis C.K. for some comedian wisdom

It’s hard to follow this up with commentary or blogging of any sort. However, it is something I try to live by when possible even though America has made it far to easy to be comfortable while not seeing the “real world” context.

What is something you do/say/don’t do that could be seen as a “1st world problem”? Ever stop and have a world-context moment? Does it bother you? Should it? Why?

Penny for your Thoughts?

16 thoughts on “Real World Problems: Putting self in context

  1. In my circles, i.e. tertiary educated left-leaning middle class Australians, we talk a lot about first world problems. We know we’re just so lucky to have had the opportunities presented to us, but still have a whinge about such dramas as an over-salty soup or the price of petrol (gas). Mind you, when something ‘real’ happens (friend’s divorce, sick kid) all talk of first world problems go out the window – even though the sentiment is probably applicable.

    • Can’t believe I missed this comment until now. Bah!

      Isn’t it interesting how when something shatters our subjective social circle, that the whining goes out the window? Conversely, I’ve seen it happen with the good things too. Like when a friend has a new baby brought into the world, or marriage, or a new job. Lately, I’ve even seen some friends share their “random act of kindness” experiences, and it seems to send a ripple through fellow co-workers of an outside-the-box type of thinking. It’s fascinating, really.

      As always, thanks for the thought! ❤

      • 🙂

        It would be interesting, to see that kind of rippling! I wish I could be in a workplace right now. Ah well. When the time is right, I’ll be back there.

      • Girl, it’s draining me. I love the fact that I have a job, sure, but times like now when I’m sick and don’t have the kind of job that offers sick pay, much less paid vacation? I’m dying. :/

        I might just be ungrateful, and probably am (ha! on this blog topic of all things….) but damn. 6 days a week is draining.

      • Nah, you don’t sound ungrateful. Not in the least. My fear is that I might be forced to do something in a workplace because otherwise we’d have to do something drastic. Now this is going to sound extremely snobby, but once I get healthy again I’ll be returning to my fairly well-respected professional job, so I don’t really want to be seen by former or prospective clients doing so-called menial work … I’m stressed about it 🙂 but when again, what aren’t I stressed about, ho ho? While we can still laugh, things are good! Or at least Ok!

      • Things are fantastic, we just are those types of people that feel down and out in the fantastic times. Bwahahaha! But yeah, we can laugh at it too. That’s the fun of it. 😉 It can be nice being in the work place, at LEAST, for how people have seen my ups and down and point it out to me. They don’t know what’s going on, and SOMETIMES, the side comments hurt… but other times the “SARAH! SMILE!” makes me giggle.

        Anywhos, in better news, this lady here has a written exam for a professional state entry-level job coming up on Tuesday. Menial desk job, but benefits and no running around like the crazy server lady that I am. So here’s to hoping we both get to a healthy work environment soon! ❤

  2. When people whine about lines.
    I think it’s particularly sad and first world-ey (let’s pretend that’s a word, please?) when they whine about lines at a drive thru, yet inside the restaurant it’s practically empty.

    I think these kinds of things should bother us, if only because apathy sucks. Read any dystopian novel (ie Fahrenheit 451 or Brave New World) and apathy is guranteed to be a theme. It destroys people. I also know, personally, that I don’t like to see myself as the type that doesn’t care about others. To a certain extent, most of us are, though. We generally don’t live like those in third world countries do, yet we still feel entitled to whine.

    • Ha! That’s so true, the lines! It really doesn’t make sense, does it? We can be such an impatient species… needing things NOW. Usually things we don’t really need, like that fast-food junk food we sadly even call “food.”

      I have not read a dystopian novel in quite some time… hm. I think it would do me good. Thank you! You may not have meant to suggest it, but it is going on the To Read list. Thank you for taking the time to write your thought!

  3. Pingback: Biased Hypocrite | For Your Thoughts

  4. I have world context moments all the time. People around me worry about the flavor of food and I put no condiments on my food. I’m happy to have food. I eat like a diabetic. I live like or better than royalty… of several hundred years ago and current day in many countries. When I think about my choices for food and what starving children have, it makes me somber and sad. There are many people in the world who will never drive a car in their lives, I own two. I live like royalty and still feel I don’t ‘have enough. It’s a conundrum. I can actually ‘choose’ to go for dinner and a movie any night I want… most of the world get no where close to that kind of liberty and choice. I worry about how much the doctor’s visit will cost me but … damn, I can go to the doctor whenever I want… and I have choices. I live in a land full of royalty that does not know their place.

    • My most difficult part with this is seeing how many people do NOT realize nor see their own first world context. Yeah, I have my moments, days, sometimes weeks where I don’t either… Like right now I’m in a rut of “I hate my fucking job” when I should really just be appreciative that I have a job, and making the money I do to live the way I do beyond comfortable.

      It’s this topic that makes something rise up within me in anger. It frustrates me. I think, sometimes, perhaps… the fact that some people do not see this doesn’t just in itself frustrate me… but makes me want to desperately do more to help those who are not in my situation. It makes me want to do what THEY aren’t doing to help the poor, the starving, the destitute, the trafficked, etc etc to make up for it… but yet, it’s too much of a huge project.

      It puts me inbetween apathy: “fuck it, things’ll never change” and excitement “I can be the change I want to see in the world, at least.”

      Ugh. It’s a war and a battle, and ultimately a humbling realization and thought process every day.

      Those are my thoughts.. in reaction to your thoughts, which are always greatly appreciated.

      • I have thought about this a lot. There is no way for you to have rescued all on the Titanic with a canoe. Pick the things you can do that have an impact. Some thoughts here: Gates picked malaria and is fixing that problem. Clean water is a problem. Warlords are a problem. Medical care is a problem. Backward thinking and religion are a problem. Education is a problem. Sustainable food supplies is a problem. I also donate closer to home for animals and homeless humans.

        When you want to change the world, change the influence of the churches on politics, change the rejection of science, change the inequalities in the world. Pick some problem and work on it, even if that is only to study it and present it to the world with your view and ask for their support.

      • Thank you for that. You’re absolutely right, and perfect imagery with the canoe.

        I suppose we are all capable of making an impact, but destroying our potential by working outside of our means and reach will most likely only break our backs. At least mine, cause I got a bad one. 😉 Good thoughts to take to work with today.

Penny for your thoughts....? Do share them here!

